Tailoring PRINCE2 ® to the Project Environment

The generic project management method PRINCE2 ® is not designed to be implemented rigidly in accordance with the manual in exactly the same way for each project. Tailoring means developing and applying PRINCE2 ® to suit each specific project environment.

The criteria that define the project environment may be internal or external. Examples of criteria that are external to the project include generally applicable standards that are enforced by a company or organisation. These might consist of quality standards, stipulations on how a Business Case is to be documented, or defined procedures for calculating investments or carrying out appraisals. Examples of internal project criteria include the project’s scope, complexity, costs, and the type (internal and/or external) and number of suppliers.

Tailoring is applied to the contents of themes such as risk management and project controls (e.g. division of the project into a small or large number of stages), management products and processes, and the choice of the roles that make up the organisational structure of the project.

Although PRINCE2 ® should essentially be applied in its entirety however the project is tailored, the formal requirements may be very different in each case. While a complex project requires comprehensive, formally approved documentation as a basis for decision-making, a smaller project will often only require an e-mail or a properly logged phone call.

The goal should always be to manage each project efficiently and cost-effectively while ensuring that the company reaps the benefits of the investment it has made in the project. 

 

info@prince2.ch
PRINCE2® is a Registered Trade Mark of the Cabinet Office
Imprint
Links
Deutsch
Italiano
Français
English

Anpassung von PRINCE2 ® an die Projektumgebung

PRINCE2 ® als generische Projektmanagementmethode sollte nicht „roboterhaft“ nach Handbuch für jedes Projekt gleichartig umgesetzt werden. Anpassung bedeutet die angemessene Entwicklung und Anwendung von PRINCE2 ® auf eine konkrete Projektumgebung.

Projektexterne oder projektinterne Kriterien beschreiben hierbei die Projektumgebung. Als projektexterne Kriterien gelten zum Beispiel allgemeingültige Standards eines Unternehmens oder einer Organisation. Das können Qualitätsstandards sein, Vorgaben, wie ein Business Case zu dokumentieren ist oder definierte vorgeschriebene Verfahren bei Investitionsrechnungen oder Schätzungen. Beispiele für projektinterne Kriterien sind neben anderen Umfang, Komplexität, Kosten, oder Art (intern und/oder extern) und Anzahl der Lieferanten.

Gegenstand der Anpassung sind Themeninhalte, wie Risikomanagement oder Steuerungsmittel (z.B. Projekteinteilung in viele oder wenige Managementphasen), Managementprodukte oder Prozesse und die Besetzung der Projektorganisation.

Grundsätzlich gilt bei allen Anpassungen PRINCE2 ® komplett anzuwenden. Die formalen Anforderungen können aber sehr unterschiedlich sein. Während in einem komplexen Projekt für eine Entscheidungsgrundlage eine umfassende, formal abgenommene Dokumentation erforderlich ist, genügt in einem kleinen Projekt eine Email oder ein protokollierter Anruf.

Ziel muss es bleiben, jedes Projekt adäquat und wirtschaftlich zu managen und den Nutzen der Projektinvestition für das Unternehmen abzusichern.

info@prince2.ch
PRINCE2 ® is a Registered Trade Mark of AXELOS Limited
Impressum
Links
Deutsch
Italiano
Français
English